Skip to main content


Teams drawn, partners prepare

sept. 19, 2006

PWT 067s.jpgPWT 070s.jpg PWT 063s.jpgPWT 069s.jpg The celebrities are all here and the festivities have begun! Two planes brought in the 10 celebrities early this afternoon. Most of them hit the water for an hour or two so they could get their lines wet before the show starts tomorrow! Jimmy prepared a big steak dinner that was a major hit with the crowd of pros, celebs, sponsors, and media. At 8:00 PM, everyone convened in Big Molly's Bar for a short rules meeting. Pit greeted everyone and said a brief introduction.  Dale Jensen spoke about the inaugral event going so well thus far, and that we hope to make this bigger and better every year! Nick Koken said a few words on behalf of the Boomer Esiason Foundation. Then, In-Fisherman (including Jim Kalkofen, Steve Hoffman, and Charlie Moore) spoke about the tournament format, schedule, how to photograph the fish properly for the tournament, and explained the few rules we have (ie: don't cast over another guy's boat!). They showed us the plaque that everyone is gunning for. Last on the agenda was the team selections! I will list them all at the end of this news item. The night was just beginning for many people. The clubroom was hopping as all 40 people plus staff were meeting and greeting. It was a really cool thing to see all of these people from different walks of life come together in such a sincere and friendly environment. After a while, some of the guys took the poker chips into the lounge and started a big game. Poker pros Robert Williamson and Scott Flansburg played, but with the targets clearly on their foreheads they were unable to get to the money. Dale Jensen ended up winning the tournament with pocket 8's (his favorite hand of the night!). The party raged on until the little hours of the morning, but then it was time for some rest as the tournament begins Wednesday morning! Here's a list of the teams (PWT pro and celeb)
1. Ron Seelhoff Les Stroud
2. Bill St. Peter Dale Jensen
3. Sheldon Meidinger Rick Schroder
4. Dave Van Oss Dave Krieg
5. Mark Christianson Robert Williamson, III
6. Andy Kuffer Don Lamont
7. Bobby Crow Hoyt Corkins
8. Mark Martin Scott Flansberg
9. Daryl Christensen Mike Gartner
10. Jim Carroll Kris King